The NBA League office reviewed tape on the no-call when Dahntay Jones undercut Kobe Bryant and claims that the replay "confirmed that referees missed a foul call" as Jones "did not give him the opportunity to land cleanly", via NBA.com:

After review at the league office, video replay confirmed that referees missed a foul call on Jones as he challenged Bryant's shot and did not give him the opportunity to land cleanly back on the floor. Bryant should have been granted two free throws.

Kobe immediately stated post-game that it should have been a foul call, "period" via Twitter. It appears he was right. Most importantly, this set a precedent with the league officially stating a play like this should have been a foul call.