You’d think John Tortorella would have seen it all through his career, but the Rangers coach said he had never before seen what happened during the second period of the Blueshirts’ 4-1 victory over the Caps yesterday, in which Alexander Ovechkin was cited for two penalties on the same sequence, thus allowing the Rangers to go on a power play even after scoring a goal on the original delayed call.

“Never,” said Tortorella, whose team capitalized on Ryan Callahan’s power-play deflection for a 3-1 lead at 11:31 of the second, just 41 seconds after Brian Boyle’s goal during the delayed penalty at 10:53.

Ovechkin, who first had hooked Callahan, went to the box for holding Ryan McDonagh.

The NHL rule is for the initial faceoff following a penalty to be held in the offensive zone of the team on the power play. But the NHL rule also is for a faceoff following a goal to be held at the center dot.

The puck was dropped at center ice following Boyle’s goal/Ovechkin’s penalty.

“That’s what I was talking to the linesman about,” Tortorella said. “They’re going to need a new rule.”