Boston manager John Farrell said the play that led to Detroit’s three unearned runs didn’t necessarily cost his team the game on Sunday. It just made it more difficult.

One could argue with that opinion, just as Farrell argued, and was ejected for arguing the call with second base umpire Mike DiMuro.

The score was tied at 4 going into the bottom of the eighth and those three runs enabled the Tigers to take 3-of-4 from the Red Sox with their 7-5 victory.

Avisail Garcia led off the eighth with a fairly deep fly to right that Daniel Nava, who had just replaced Shane Victorino (lower back tightness), caught, then dropped, allowing Garcia to reach second. Garcia later scored on Torii Hunter’s sacrifice fly and two more runs scored on Prince Fielder’s single.

Replays clearly showed the ball in Nava’s glove but when he tried to take the ball out it, he dropped it.

“When you spend the rest of the game in the clubhouse, you definitely have a difference of opinion,” Farrell said. “What’s kind of surprising is that the three other umpires didn’t see it, either. I can’t say it changed the game, but it certainly changed the complexion of the eighth inning.”

Jim Leyland said he didn’t know exactly what happened but he does know the rules.

“The rule is you have to voluntarily take the ball out of the glove,” he said.

Hunter said the error took place when Nava tried to take the ball out of his glove.

“I think it’s more of the transfer,” he said. “I think he popped it out. He tried to be cool.”